Chronic Illness and Self-Acceptance

“Living with a chronic illness is a challenge at best. If the illness is devastating but not recognized by the medical establishment, convincing ourselves life is worth living becomes an uphill battle.” Read Tina Frisco’s post on her struggle with a debilitating illness…and the conclusion she arrives at – self-acceptance. self-love and self-compassion…we are all works in progress….

TINA FRISCO

Lucie Stastkova Art Photo courtesy of Lucie Stastkova

Living with a chronic illness is a challenge at best. If the illness is devastating but not recognized by the medical establishment, convincing ourselves life is worth living becomes an uphill battle.

In the year 2000, I was diagnosed with a chronic illness that presented as a drop-dead flu. I’d been symptomatic since in the 1980s, but early on, flareups were few and far between. Innumerable doctor visits always produced tests with negative results. Over time, symptoms increased in severity and duration until they became immobilizing and constant in 1999.

I knew my doctors thought I was malingering. I felt invalidated yet knew damn well something was wrong. I lived in fear of a dreaded disease not being detected in time to be treated. Simultaneously, I wasn’t sure I wanted to live. By 1999 I was nearly bedridden; in debilitating pain; overwhelmed by fatigue; suffering…

View original post 857 more words

10 thoughts on “Chronic Illness and Self-Acceptance

    • I had a friend (long ago) who suffered from chronic pain and couldn’t get docs to believe her….I saw her struggle…and when I read Tina’s post, she came to mind. Thanks, Adele!

      • Thank you, Mira. It is debilitating and horrible to see somehow suffer. I don’t understand why Doctors can’t understand. I am trying to stay away from gluten at the moment to see if that makes a difference. x

      • Big issue here…and very complex…I think allopathic docs are themselves caught in a trap…most of them…and money rules. They are hemmed in too, and some are just greedy or overworked. Have you investigated Oil Pulling? Please google it and if you feel like it, start the practice – an ancient ayurvedic technique that many use, easy and draws toxins naturally out of the body. I’ve been doing it for years and wouldn’t give it up for anything. Love and sending healing energy from Arunachala.

Leave a Reply

