ANGEL IN MANHATTAN

BODHI LEAVES IN COLORIt was a gorgeous fall morning and I woke up deliriously happy in my new apartment. The past couple of months had been crazy with all sorts of pressures, but finally the move from Carroll Gardens to Brooklyn Heights came; since this was post-divorce and I was on my own, the task of moving, then settling in, took up every bit of my remaining energy.

Now Saturday had dawned and all the grueling work was done, so I was free to enjoy my beautiful apartment in the St. George Tower, with its view of the Promenade, and beyond it, the regal Statue of Liberty, telling me I had made it against all odds in the land of the brave and the free.

In Manhattan, folks make plans way ahead of the weekend. I, however, had been too busy to do that; besides, my friends were in the city, and not in this beautiful suburb within walking distance of lower Manhattan. The sudden thought of my alone-ness struck me with the force of a blow to my gut!

IMG_1552I walked to the frig, pulled out a pack of organic tortillas and another of Sunshine burgers stuffed with cheese and veggies, and cooked up a delicious breakfast. I ate it as I sat staring out of my window. Fear struck again and, like a robot, I made myself a second breakfast to tamp down the fear. Unbelievably, I went through all those tortillas and burgers until I could barely walk! The demon of food had me firmly in her clutches—only stuffing myself, I was convinced, could stop this devilish fear from devastating me.

I stumbled back to my sunny bedroom and dived into bed. Drawing the comforter over my head, I lay still, hating myself for being such a coward. (You see, I had grown up in a traditional Indian family where women are not encouraged—sometimes even punished and ostracized—for being independent and different from the herd. I had come a long way, but I still hated the idea of wandering out into a strange neighborhood.)

I felt like a bleached whale with all that food in my belly. Against all odds, I had purchased my first apartment—but suddenly this felt like a Phyrric victory. Life stretched drearily ahead of me—and yet Spirit told me this was a time for solitude: so I could investigate who I truly was beneath the façade I projected—that of a confident woman who had made in the world’s most frenzied city.

IMG_1802I was weeping softly when I felt a strong presence in the room;  warily, I pulled down the comforter and opened my eyes: a figure of light sat on my bed, resting against the wall, his legs passing right through mine! The face was blinding light, and yet I sensed that the energy of this being was masculine. The deva transmitted this wordless message: “Wake up, lazybones! You’ve plenty to do!!!” I got out of bed in a daze of joy, showered and walked out into a beautiful morning—for now I knew for sure that I was never alone.

My risk-taking nature continued to land me in desperate straits; perhaps the worst of these times was being confined to a guest house in Rishikesh, after being bitten by a Himalayan spider; my insides were writhing in pain due to a blood infection and I knew I was dying. I could not leave town due to one of the biggest festivals in the area—the narrow winding streets were clogged with devotees who had come down from the surrounding hills and villages, and the two bridges into town were impassable. I cried out to that angelic being to appear and give me hope that I would survive this terrible time, but I never saw him again. (Please check out: https://miraprabhu.wordpress.com/2013/08/13/the-spider-and-the-blue-throated-god-part-12/)

RAMAN UNDER UMBRELLA BLACK AND WHITEToday, here in south India, I know for sure that I am surrounded by beings of light. It is said that Shiva, who took the form of Arunachala to help millions destroy their egos, appears in three forms in Tiruvannamalai: 1) the sacred hill itself; 2) the self-luminous lingam at the main temple, and 3) as a yogi, named Arunagiri, who lives in invisible form on the hill.

Ramana Maharshi, the great sage of south India, once spoke of travelling upward on the hill and finding a giant banyan leaf. He tried to find the tree from which it had fallen, but stumbled into a hornet’s nest and was badly stung. He left that place in great pain, convinced he had entered the realm of Arunagiri Yogi, who had not wished to be intruded upon.

Bhagavan Ramana said the holy hill Arunachala is not what it appears to be; instead, it is a marvelous region where many siddhas (perfected beings) reside. One night, as I sat on my roof with a  friend, we both saw a light hovering over the hill—it was too high to be held by a human hand, and it was no UFO; it remained glowing in the night for hours, and we both felt the spirit of Arunachala had appeared to spur us forward on this narrow path to liberation.

RAMANA FACE OVER ARUNACHALA
Greetings from Arunachala on this sunny morning! May you too experience the healing comfort of light beings, and then spread this wondrous light to everyone you meet!

If you’ve enjoyed reading my posts, please also check out my BOOKS.

Enter your email address to follow this blog and receive notifications of new posts by email.


Click the buttons below to SHARE if you liked this post.
Note: The REBLOG option is available only when viewing the post in full. Click on the post-title above if don’t see the REBLOG button below.
15 thoughts on “ANGEL IN MANHATTAN

  1. The Angelic light took you from Manhattan to Rishikesh and Down south to Thiruvannamalai;with the blessings of Ramana Maharshi and the guiding light, you have come to the junction where you have found out how good it is to be liberated and live where you are sure that you are not alone. You made us traverse the continents with your illuminating story that elates us no end….Has it got anything to do with the ‘Liberty Girl’ in the close proximity or the breakfast…..fabulous to read this piece breakfast here down under in Gold Coast…..Thank you Mira.

    • Dear Raam, thank you so much…yes, despite my craziness, I have been blessed by being led here. It is not always easy here, the ego gets battered, but there is so much light!!! Gold Coast – are you in Wash. DC? Forgive my ignorance – but there is a segment of DC that goes by the same name. Om Arunachala!

  2. The Angelic light took you from Manhattan to Rishikesh and Down south to Thiruvannamalai;with the blessings of Ramana Maharshi and the guiding light, you have come to the junction where you have found out how good it is to be liberated and live where you are sure that you are not alone. You made us traverse the continents with your illuminating story that elates us no end….Has it got anything to do with the ‘Liberty Girl’ in the close proximity or the breakfast…..fabulous to read this piece breakfast here down under in Gold Coast…..Thank you Mira.

  3. Your story is incredible and wonderful, Mira. To me, the most amazing part is the fact that you had the courage to separate from your marriage, and continue to live your life alone in that city. Of course, we humans are a very adaptable species; adjusting to the living conditions in which we find ourselves. I have had ‘snippets’ of that in my life, but I have never been out of the U.S. for an extended period, so I have not experienced the sense of cultural isolation you might have felt. Those Light Beings are blessing our lives whether we know it or not. I wouldn’t be alive today if it hadn’t been for divine protection. I have not had such a vivid experience as yours at your bedside, but I know innately that guidance and protection is ever-present. We ourselves are light-beings… just in a denser form. May we ALL experience that Light that shines within us and all around us! Om Namah Sivaaya

  4. Dear Mira,

    I love your writing and especially appreciate how you guide us back to the Blessed Holy Mountain. When I read this from a friend, “Greetings from Arunachala on this sunny morning!”, my heart soars. Thank you!

    I had coffee with a friend a few days ago. She told me she had just finished reading your book, “Whip of the Wild God”. She was thrilled and went on and on about how much she enjoyed it. She was beaming as she spoke.

    May we soon meet in the Old Hall. Arunachalam!

    • Hello Sheila (hope I’m spelling your name right) – wonderful to hear from you and on such a positive note, which means you are thriving. Also great to hear your friend enjoyed Whip – and yes, would love to see you again in Tiru – when do you plan to visit? Much love from Arunachala!

    • Ah, Harsh, you are generous and kind….and if you got to know me personally, you would see a million flaws! Nevertheless, your words make me feel good. Much love from Arunachala!

    • Ana, lovely to hear from you! Hope all is well! I’m in the thick of pubbing Krishna’s Counsel – we did not make it on Kindle, need 1000s of nominations for that, unfortunately, but we’re going far and wide nevertheless, and I hope you get to read it. Much love!!!

Leave a Reply

