The Magic of Being Alone

GRAPHIC OF WOMAN1992 for me was a time of great personal darkness—sparkly on the outside, rotten on the inside. Stuck in a difficult marriage, I asked a friend at work if I could unload my troubles on her.

Karen was an opera singer at the start of her career; like me, she supported herself by freelancing in Manhattan law firms and on Wall Street. I admired her creativity, courage and higher values. Often  after work we’d walk across Manhattan to my apartment and chat while I cooked us dinner.

“Let’s go to Central Park tomorrow,” she suggested. “We can talk freely there.” So next day we strolled through that gorgeous park and I told her, tears streaming down my face, that the husband I once believed I’d love and respect to my dying day had turned into a materialistic stranger.

“Why are you so scared to leave him then?” she asked in her direct fashion. “Sounds like you have good reason.” 

So I told her about the conservative family I’d fought in order to marry this guy, and about the in-laws who stood against all my higher values. Neither would support me in seeking my freedom, I said. How on earth would I ever make it alone in this expensive and chaotic city? 

FLYING WOMAN GRAPHIC“I vibe with the bit about losing financial support,” Karen said, “but why are you so scared to be alone?”

“Because I heard too many ghost stories growing up,” I explained haltingly.”Because, ever since childhood, I’ve seen some pretty weird things. Truth is, Karen, I’m afraid to be alone at night.”

“Scared of spirits?” she interrupted. “And what are you, pray tell?”

Her answer took me aback. Already I’d begun diving into eastern philosophy for an answer to my angst. I knew the theory well—that in essence we living beings are immortal spirit encased in mortal flesh—but this truth had not percolated down into the fiber of my being. Now my friend had brought up a big question—why was I so scared of the spirit realm when I too was spirit?

Nothing changed on the outside after that talk in the park, but on the inside things began to simmer. And when I finally picked up the courage to quit my painful domestic situation, things got even worse when I lost every cent I’d earned to my angry spouse who had always controlled our finances.

YOGI GRAPHIC 2It was a sharp woman lawyer who convinced me that I should cut and run no matter what. “You’re young, smart and talented,” she said. “You can make it on your own. Fight him and all I can promise you is a nervous breakdown.”

I took her advice; but every single day for the first few months of being alone, I fought the phantoms of fear. What helped was talking to my therapist on a weekly basis, meditating morning and night, dumping toxins on willing friends, hatha yoga and walks in the park.

As for the phobia I had about sleeping alone at night, another friend, also in the process of dissolving his marriage, gave me two of his cats. Sweetie and Liza flanked me in bed, and another friend installed night lights all the way from my bedroom to my bathroom—just in case I had to go in the night!

Time passed, and my internal sun began to shine again. Seven years later, I quit the relative safety of Manhattan for the mysterious Himalayas, and continued to make major errors of judgment. I also came close to death several times. The worst experience was when I was literally trapped in a guest room in Rishikesh, dying excruciatingly due to an untreated infection caused by a spider bite.

YOGI GRAPHICLooking back on those crazy times, one thing stands out: that the most intense maturing and surrender I did was during times when I was alone and had no trustworthy human to turn to—times when I honestly would have preferred to be dead.

Today I am utterly grateful that I did go through that darkness—for those who never dare leave a comfort zone also never have the chance to crumble and change on the interior. I’m not recommending my form of savage rebellion to others, but now that I’m doing what I’d always craved to do—which is to deepen my spiritual quest as I write novels designed to inspire others on the path less traveled—I see that it was those stormy times when I was alone that carried me from darkness to light.

The other day a friend dropped in for a visit. She told me about her new boyfriend and admitted she doubted he could be a life-long partner. “He can’t stand being alone for any length of time and that really bothers me,” she said. “Why?” I asked. “Because I’ve come to believe that it is in deep solitude that the soul shines. Unless he can be happy on his own, I don’t want to commit. I’ve been burned too many times.” I nodded in agreement: Better to walk the path alone than with a mate who cannot fully support you.

INDIAN GIRL BEAUTYToday I love the dark. It is friendly, rich and warm. It smiles, whispers and caresses. I owe this ongoing transformation in consciousness to an ancient tool I received via the grace of Ramana Maharshi, the greatest sage of modern India: for Atma-Vichara removes the darkness of a mind gone berserk with worry, fear and false imaginings as it reveals the light of our Self.

Greetings from Arunachala!

ARUNACHALA WITH PURPLE SKY

If you’ve enjoyed reading my posts, please also check out my BOOKS.

Enter your email address to follow this blog and receive notifications of new posts by email.


Click the buttons below to SHARE if you liked this post.
Note: The REBLOG option is available only when viewing the post in full. Click on the post-title above if don’t see the REBLOG button below.
45 thoughts on “The Magic of Being Alone

  1. Is it not true, that while being with others with whom you are normally comfortable with, or have even known for a long time, that you glimpse at your situation and think you are in reality fundamentally alone?

  2. Mira, I rarely comment on your posts, but this one touched me deeply. Finding your power in being alone and venturing outside one’s comfort zone are valuable tools for growth, and ironically, for becoming comfortable outside of comfort. Well-written. 🙂

    • Dara, thank you. I’ve broken through a thousand comfort zones, I believe, and here in Tiru they break all the time! How are you? Send me an email someday soon and give me the news – big hug, warrior woman.

  3. Beautifully expressed. I also identify with much of your story (life) and agree I love the night – there has been much light for me there. You are an inspiration dear Mira.
    “Be in your joy and flow with the energy of the Stars.”
    Namaste

  4. Your story was very powerful for me, Mira. I, too, left my marriage, and went through the most painful time in my life. Guilt; despair; hopelessness; and depression plagued me for the better part of two years. I was angry at God and the world of pain I had created. It was awareness of the latter that helped me climb out of a self-inflicted hell.
    Our thoughts are what give us pain; not our circumstances. We project all kinds of ideas about our “reality” that are mere phantoms. Once we realize all we have to do is turn to face the light, our ‘shadow-self’ loses the power to control us. The road to healing is before us; not behind! Om Namah Sivaaya!

  5. Always love your writ, Mira! Great to get more tidbits of your life and what has made you the wonderful person you are… Hugs!

  6. Thank you Mira very much for this beautiful post and learning .. I agree the darkness can be a great teacher so long as we can withstand it. And solitude – such a great teacher too!

  7. As per my understanding, Soul and Spirit aren’t the same thing.
    Soul (Atman) has ‘no memory’ but ”Jeev Atman” has memories.
    Your these lines sum up the same views;
    “I owe this ongoing transformation in consciousness to an ancient tool
    I received via the grace of Ramana Maharshi, the greatest sage of
    modern India: for Atma-Vichara removes the darkness of a mind gone
    berserk with worry, fear and false imaginings as it reveals the light
    of our Self”……

  8. As per my understanding, Soul and Spirit ren’t the same thing.
    Soul (Atman) has ‘no memory’ but ”Jeev Atman” has memories.
    Your these lines sum up the same views;
    “I owe this ongoing transformation in consciousness to an ancient tool
    I received via the grace of Ramana Maharshi, the greatest sage of
    modern India: for Atma-Vichara removes the darkness of a mind gone
    berserk with worry, fear and false imaginings as it reveals the light
    of our Self”……

  9. Great spiritual warrior, your story leaves one agape with amazement, passing through those dark shades and shadows of the intractable jungle of life. It was some mysterious, miraculous grace that protected you in this stranger than fiction journey of life. Kudos for your valiant spirit!

    • Mahender, you are too kind. I have lived many lives in this one and must have the luck of a cat because I’m still alive and kicking. Thank you for being such a wonderful kalyanamitra!

  10. Mira, your words resonate deeply. I also am eternally grateful for the day that suffering pushed me to the end of myself. One day I truly heard the word alone as ALL ONE. No separation, no “other”, just Pure Being NOW. Very thankful to have stumbled upon your post today. Feeling connected.

  11. Such an inspiring post, Mira. I’ve always craved alone time. But I must admit, there are times ~ and more so as I’ve grown older ~ when the company of a companion would be most welcome. Shared across my pages ❤

Leave a Reply

