Analogies and Metaphors

“Dying is a wild night and a new road,” said Emily Dickinson.
And I say WOW…for a good analogy/metaphor is a powerful device to hook a reader’s imagination. Read on if you love the magic skilfully used words can produce….and thank you for this excellent piece, Aurora Jean Alexander!

Writer's Treasure Chest

When I read a book I enjoy analogies and metaphors, provided the author hasn’t gone overboard with them. Knowing I still got to learn I pay close attention to what I like to read. In my opinion, a story, a book, even an adventure can be written in vivid and imaginative way when containing metaphors and/or analogies.

Lately I realized that an analogy and a metaphor can be similar. So I got research done.

What are analogies and metaphors? Are there good analogies and metaphors and which are the ones that should be avoided?

Let’s see what I found out:

Definition

Analogy (from Greek ἀναλογία, analogia, “proportion”[1][2]) is a cognitive process of transferring information or meaning from a particular subject (the analogue or source) to another (the target), or a linguistic expression corresponding to such a process. In a narrower sense, analogy is an inference or…

View original post 1,477 more words

3 thoughts on “Analogies and Metaphors

Leave a Reply

